SUMMARY OF MINUTES CALHOUN COUNTY COMMISSION FEBRUARY 27, 2020

The regular meeting of the Calhoun County Commission was called to order by Chairman Hodges. Also present were Commissioner Wilson and Commissioner Patterson. Rev. Byron Jackson, Pastor of Greater Thankful Baptist Church in Anniston, gave an invocation and led the Pledge of Allegiance.

The Commissioners approved the payment of warrants issued, to-wit:

Commissioner Patterson made a motion to adopt the agenda. Following a second to the motion from Commissioner Wilson, all Commissioners present voted in favor of the motion.

To commemorate Black History Month, proclamations were presented to two outstanding leaders of Calhoun County: 1) Steven D. Folks, City Manager for Anniston, Alabama, received on his behalf by his wife, Rev. Vickie Folks; and 2) Joseph (Joe) Weaver, Chief Operating Officer for Northeast Alabama Regional Medical Center, and CEO of Stringfellow Memorial Hospital.

A proclamation was presented, on behalf of the Commissioners, by EMA Director Michael Barton in support of the Calhoun County Infectious Disease Task Force. Mr. Barton advised the Task Force will lead Calhoun County's preparation and response to the crises associated with influenza, the 2019 coronavirus, and any other infections disease that may threaten the area. He stated the main purposes of the Task Force will include: 1) collaborative planning, 2) information sharing, 3) training, 4) personal protective equipment resourcing, and 5) public awareness. Several members of the Task Force were present and were commended for their service to Calhoun County.

Commissioner Patterson made a motion to adopt the minutes of the regular meeting on February 13, 2020, and the emergency called meeting on February 23, 2020. Commissioner Wilson seconded the motion and a vote of the Commissioners present was unanimously in favor of the motion.

A motion was made by Commissioner Wilson to adopt a resolution that was presented by County Administrator Mark Tyner to award the bid for Body/Collision Repairs of County Vehicles to the only bidder, Barrett Body Shop Inc. All Commissioners present voted in favor of the motion. (RESOLUTION ATTACHED)

Mr. Tyner presented a resolution to award the bid for Maintenance for County Vehicles to the lowest responsible, responsive bidder, Drivers Choice, Inc. A roll call vote of the Commissioners present was as follows: Yeas – Commissioner Wilson and Commissioner Patterson, Abstain – Chairman Hodges. The motion carried by a majority vote of the Commissioners present. (RESOLUTION ATTACHED)

Commissioner Patterson made a motion to adopt a resolution that was presented by Mr. Tyner to award the bids for public nuisance demolition/removal to Bell's Contracting and Wendy Thornton, based on the lowest responsive, responsible bid for each property. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Wilson and a vote of the Commissioners present was unanimously in favor of the motion. (RESOLUTION ATTACHED)

A motion was made by Commissioner Wilson and seconded by Commissioner Patterson to adopt a resolution that was presented by Mr. Tyner to extend the contract with Coca-Cola Bottling Company Unitied to provide Exclusive Soft Drink Sales and Scoreboards at the Calhoun County Sports Complex (Woodland Park) for a final one-year period beginning March 1, 2020. All Commissioners present voted in favor of the motion. (RESOLUTION ATTACHED)

Mr. Tyner presented a resolution authorizing an application for ADEM funding in an amount not to exceed \$350,000 to be used to relocate the recycling facility from its current location on Bynum-Leatherwood Road to the Calhoun County Landfill site on Morrisville Road. Commissioner Patterson made a motion to adopt the resolution, Commissioner Wilson seconded the motion, and all Commissioners present voted in favor of the motion. (RESOLUTION ATTACHED)

A motion was made by Commissioner Wilson and seconded by Commissioner Patterson to adopt a resolution, as presented by Mr. Tyner, to oppose any proposed state legislation that would remove the Sheriff's discretion on issuing pistol permits and/or weaken the Sheriff's ability to provide for the safety and welfare of all Calhoun County citizens, residents and visitors. All Commissioners present voted in favor of the motion. (RESOLUTION ATTACHED)

Commissioner Patterson made a motion to approve Deerfield Subdivision Phase 2, as recommended by County Engineer Brian Rosenbalm. The proposed subdivision is located off Dearmanville Road in District 2, and according to Mr. Rosenbalm it meets the provisions of the subdivision regulations of Calhoun County. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Wilson and the motion carried with a unanimous vote of the Commissioners present.

A motion was made by Commissioner Wilson to appoint Sheriff Matthew Wade to fill an unexpired term, representing District 5, on the Calhoun County 911 District Board of Directors. Retired Sheriff Larry Amerson resigned this position due to medical issues on February 12, 2020. The term will expire on March 1, 2022. Following a second to the motion from Commissioner Patterson, all Commissioners present voted in favor of the motion.

Commissioner Patterson made a motion to re-appoint Phil Webb to serve another three-year term as the Commissioners' representative on the McClellan Development Authority, beginning April 1, 2020. Commissioner Wilson seconded the motion and a vote of the Commissioners present was unanimously in favor of the motion.

Public comments were heard from the following: Glenn Ray commended the Commissioners and the community for the cooperative response to the coronavirus announcement, but felt it was inappropriate that a Commissioner wore a political hat to the emergency called meeting. Rev.

Vickie Folks and Richard Jackson also commended the Commissioners and the community for working together for the good of the community.

A motion to adjourn was made by Commissioner Patterson and seconded by Commissioner Wilson. All Commissioners present voted in favor of the motion.

The next meeting was announced for Thursday, March 12, 2020, at 10:00 a.m.