## SUMMARY OF MINUTES CALHOUN COUNTY COMMISSION May 8, 2025

County Attorney Julie Borrelli conducted the roll call, confirming the presence of all Commissioners. Chairman Terry Howell then officially called the regular meeting of the Calhoun County Commission to order at 10:00 a.m. Rev. Chad Pesnell, Pastor of Cornerstone Church, delivered the invocation and led the Pledge of Allegiance.

The Commissioners approved the payment of warrants issued, to wit:

The Commissioners presented ALEAF, Alabama Law Enforcement Appreciation Foundation, with a check in recognition of Law Enforcement Week. Henry Mullinax, representing ALEAF, expressed his gratitude to the Calhoun County Commission for their continued support.

Commissioner Shears presented a check to the Choccolocco Heritage Foundation for the restoration of the historic schoolhouse in Old Choccolocco. Ms. Georgia Calhoun, representing the foundation, shared the vision of reviving the building for community events and educational use.

Commissioner Henderson motioned to adopt the agenda, followed by a second motion from Commissioner Patterson. The motion was unanimously approved by a voice vote.

Commissioner Shears made a motion to adopt the minutes of the previous meetings. Commissioner Wilson seconded the motion. The motion was unanimously approved by a voice vote.

Environmental Programs Manager, Mr. Kraig Mize, recommended proceeding with the public nuisance abatements on the following properties: (1) 3075 Dripping Rock Road, Piedmont, owned by Jason Wayne and Kyle Sims; (2) 3518 Gurnee Avenue, Anniston, owned by Coddie Bevers c/o Rosemary Hall; (3) 3520 Gurnee Avenue, Anniston, owned by Jon Hendrix; (4) 0 Gurnee Avenue, Anniston, owned by Jon Hendrix; (5) 0 Leyden Street, Anniston, owned by Louie Miller; (6) 620 Inglewood Drive, Anniston, owned by Genevieve Hancock; and (7) 11 North Avenue, Anniston, owned by Richard Parker & Brooklynne Moore c/o St. of AL. The property owners were notified in advance of the meeting, but no representatives were present. Commissioner Patterson made a motion to adopt the resolutions of abatement, which was seconded by Commissioner Shears. The motion carried unanimously by voice vote. (7 RESOLUTIONS IN FILE)

Mr. Kraig Mize recommended dismissing public nuisances on the following properties: (1) 1640 Dripping Rock Road, Piedmont, owned by Angelika Sloan; (2) 925 Lloyd Street, Anniston, owned by Mary Rayner; (3) 703 W. 44<sup>th</sup> Street, Anniston, owned by John & Lona Pitts; and (4) 2401 Newborn Street, Anniston, owned by Seth & Sandra Allen. The owners were notified of the meeting. Mr. Joseph Lee Davila, representing property #2 – 925 Lloyd Street, thanked the Commission for the dismissal. Commissioner Henderson motioned to adopt the resolutions for dismissals. Commissioner Wilson seconded the motion. The motion was carried unanimously by a voice vote.

Mr. Kraig Mize recommended approving invoices as shown in the itemized report to be the cost of removal of public nuisances on the following properties: (1) 3525 Oakridge Avenue, Anniston, owned by Houneal Hill Estate c/o Jean Chastain, for \$5,026.00; and (2) 600 S. Ledbetter Street, Anniston, owned by Rose Johnson Carr, for \$6,526.00. The owners were notified of the meeting, but no representatives were present. Commissioner Henderson made a motion to approve the invoices. Commissioner Shears seconded the motion. The motion was carried unanimously by a voice vote. (2 RESOLUTION IN FILE)

Mr. Kraig Mize recommended declaring public nuisances on the following properties: (1) 2729 Simpson Street, Anniston, owned by Melvin Leigh; (2) 2733 Simpson Street, Anniston, owned by Suburban Living LLC; (3) 2209 W 9th Street, Anniston, owned by Karen B. & Danielle McFarlane; (4) 407 Morrisville Road, Anniston – George E. Porter (Est.) c/o Jackqueline Johnson; (5) 818 Apache Pass, Anniston, owned by Linda Varela; (6) 56 Milligan Street, Anniston, owned by Gilbert Girdest; (7) 616 Ledbetter Street, Anniston, owned by Charlotte & Tommy Carroll, (8) 2305 W. Jefferson Street, Anniston, owned by JKL LLC; (9) 2312 W. Jefferson Street, Anniston, owned by Deborah A. Fox; (10) 3504 Gurnee Avenue, Anniston, owned by Willie Davis & Patches Cox; (11) 3500 Gurnee Avenue, Anniston, owned by Willie Davis & Patches Cox; (12) 3514 Gurnee Avenue, Anniston, owned by Willie Davis & Patches Cox; (13) 801 N. Ledbetter Street, Anniston, owned by Fairview Freewill Baptist Church; (14) 800 N. Ledbetter Street, Anniston, owned by Fairview Freewill Baptist Church; and (15) 26 Cedar Springs Drive, Jacksonville, owned by Jules Pierre Gillette. The owners were notified of the meeting, but no representatives were present. Commissioner Shears motioned to declare properties as recommended. Commissioner Patterson seconded the motion. The motion was carried unanimously by a voice vote. (15 RESOLUTIONS IN FILE)

County Attorney, Ms. Julie Borrelli presented an agreement with Fresenius Kidney Care for jail inmate care. Commissioner Patterson motioned to authorize the Chairman's signature on the agreement, and Commissioner Wilson seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously by voice vote. (AGREEMENT IN FILE)

Ms. Borrelli presented a resolution regarding future approvals of administrative policy and procedures. Commissioner Henderson motioned to adopt the resolution, with Commissioner Shears seconding the motion. The motion carried unanimously by voice vote. (RESOLUTION IN FILE)

Ms. Borrelli presented a resolution for Cane Creek Community Gardens grant. Commissioner Henderson motioned to adopt the resolution, with Commissioner Wilson seconding the motion. The motion carried unanimously by voice vote. (RESOLUTION IN FILE)

Ms. Borrelli presented the need to fill the unexpired term for Calhoun County Water Authority, District 2 seat, vacated by Mr. Wilkes Scarbrough. Commissioner Shears motioned to appoint Mr. Vann Roberts, Jr., and Commissioner Wilson seconded the motion. The motion was carried unanimously by voice vote.

Chairman Howell opened the floor for public comments.

Commissioner Henderson motioned to adjourn, seconded by Commissioner Wilson. The motion was carried unanimously by a voice vote.

The next meeting was announced for Thursday, May 8, 2025, at 10:00 a.m.