Calhoun County, Alabama


ALABAMA MARRIAGE CERTIFICATE REQUIREMENTS
Calhoun County Probate Office
256-241-2825

 

NOTICE OF CHANGE IN MARRIAGE LICENSE LAW
(updated 8/26/2019)


COMMENCING AUGUST 29, 2019, ACT 2019-340 will replace existing state statutory marriage law, and the Judge of Probate will no longer issue a MARRIAGE LICENSE to two persons desiring to unite in marriage.  The new law abolishes the requirement for a license and, while couples may have a ceremony if they so desire, a ceremony will no longer be required.  This new law applies to every county in the State of Alabama. 

Please note that other requirements relating to marriage, such as being of minimum age and not presently married, were not changed by the new law.
 
The new law mandates that two persons desiring to unite in marriage may do so by:

  • completing the required form entitled Alabama Marriage Certificate provided by the State, which must be signed by both parties, dated, and notarized.   Notary must place his/her seal on the form.
  • delivering the completed original form to the Probate Office for recording within 30 days of the date of the signatures and notarization;
  • paying the required fee.

The effective date of the marriage is the latter of the dates of the signatures of both parties.   
 Important Note:   If you are having a marriage ceremony, and want that date to be your legal date of marriage, please make sure the Alabama Marriage Certificate form is completed, signed, dated, and notarized on the same date as your ceremony.   The parties have the responsibility to present the completed original form to the Probate Office for recording within 30 days of the signatures of the parties and same being notarized.   The recording of the required form will establish legal recognition of the marriage. The original Alabama Marriage Certificate form filed with the Probate Office will be forwarded by the Judge of Probate to the Office of Vital Statistics, as required by the new law.   The Probate Office will provide a certified copy of the recorded Alabama Marriage Certificate form to the parties for their personal records; cost $3.00 each.

The Alabama Marriage Certificate forms are available in a fillable pdf format and may be printed from the link below. Detailed instructions for completing the Adult Marriage Certificate (in pdf format) are located here. Please access the new Alabama Marriage Certificate form online, at the Alabama Department of Public Health’s website:
https://www.alabamapublichealth.gov/vitalrecords/marriage-certificates.html or the link
on the left of this page
.

PLEASE READ INSTRUCTIONS CAREFULLY!   
DO NOT USE WHITE OUT OR CORRECTION TAPE ON FORMS.

There are separate Instructions and form requirements if either party intending to marry is under the age of 18, but a least 16 years of age, and they have not been previously married.
COST TO RECORD IN CALHOUN COUNTY:    $104.00
(SAME AS PREVIOUS COST FOR LICENSE)
We accept CASH or CHECK. No debit or credit cards.

If a couple plans to marry August 29th or thereafter, they will need to comply with the new law and procedure.



NOTICE OF CHANGE IN MARRIAGE LICENSE LAW
SUPPLEMENTAL NOTICE FOR MINORS:

IF ONE OR BOTH PARTIES DESIRING TO UNITE IN MARRIAGE ARE UNDER THE AGE OF 18, BUT AT LEAST 16 YEARS OF AGE, and HAVE NOT BEEN PREVIOUSLY MARRIED, THEY ARE REQUIRED TO:

  • complete the required form entitled Alabama Marriage Certificate provided by the State, which must be signed by both parties, dated, and notarized.   Notary must place his/her seal on the form.
  • complete the required form entitled Affidavit of Consent for Marriage of a Minor, which must be properly signed, dated and notarized by parent(s) or guardian(s) of the minor(s).   Notary must place his/her seal on the form.
  • both pages must be presented together to the Probate Court in order for the marriage to be valid. 
  • deliver the completed original forms to the Probate Office for recording within 30 days of the date of the signatures and notarization;
  • pay the required fee.

 

The effective date of the marriage is the latter of the dates of the signatures of both parties.    Important Note:   If you are having a marriage ceremony, and want that date to be your legal date of marriage, please make sure the required forms are completed, signed, dated, and notarized on the same date as your ceremony.   The parties have the responsibility to present the completed original forms to the Probate Office for recording within 30 days of the signatures of the parties and same being notarized.   The recording of the required forms will establish legal recognition of the marriage. The original Alabama Marriage Certificate form and the Affidavit of Consent for Marriage of a Minor form filed with the Probate Office will be forwarded by the Judge of Probate to the Office of Vital Statistics, as required by the new law.   The Probate Office will provide a certified copy of the recorded Alabama Marriage Certificate form to the parties for their personal records; cost $3.00 each.

The Alabama Marriage Certificate and the Affidavit of Consent for Marriage of a Minor forms are available in a fillable pdf format and may be printed from the link below. Detailed instructions for completing the Minor Marriage Certificate (in pdf format) are located here. To access the new required forms and instructions online, at the Alabama Department of Public Health’s website:  https://www.alabamapublichealth.gov/vitalrecords/marriage-certificates.html

PLEASE READ INSTRUCTIONS CAREFULLY! 
DO NOT USE WHITE OUT OR CORRECTION TAPE ON FORMS.

COST TO RECORD IN CALHOUN COUNTY:    $104.00
(SAME AS PREVIOUS COST FOR LICENSE)
We accept CASH or CHECK. No debit or credit cards.

If a couple plans to marry August 29th or thereafter, they will need to comply with the new law and procedure.


Alice K. Martin, Judge of Probate, Calhoun County  (256) 241-2825

 


About Us | Privacy Policy | Contact Us | ©2021 Calhoun County Alabama